1987 Grand Prix Project

Status
Not open for further replies.

87PontiacGP

Greasemonkey
Jul 7, 2011
Chilton, Wisconsin
UPDATED 7/27/2012--Cleaned up some of the clutter in this post and updated with more current events in place. :D

Hey everyone, I've been on the forums for several months now and decided I should finally layout my project plans for the '87. I've enjoyed this site a lot since I first joined and I'm glad to have found this place to hangout and gather information from. I'm no expert by any means and sure some, if not most, of you would gladly help me along with any questions or concerns I have. Most of what I have in mind I won't be able to do for a few months. So, I thought it would be a good idea if I got as much information from everyone as I could before diving in and finding out the hard way on what will and won't be good combinations for this build.

A little background on the car. It still has the 305 c.i. Chevy engine coupled to a TH2004r transmission and 2.41 final gear ratio. Everything is pretty much in stock configuration apart from the catalytic converter replaced with a cherry bomb exhaust from the previous owner. The engine and transmission were both rebuilt around 70,000 miles ago and I do have the paperwork from the previous owner of everything done to the car which is a big plus. The interior is in fairly good shape. The dash is all good with no cracks or anything. The 40/60 bench seat and possibly the back seats will need to be re-upholstered, especially the drivers seat which has a few holes. I have contemplated doing away with the bench seat and sticking in bucket seats, but I decided against it. I want to keep it as stock looking as I can on the inside, including keeping the column mounted shifter.

Anyway, on to my build ideas! :wink:

Drivetrain Updated